Welcome to Year 5/6

Welcome to Upper Key Stage Two – Years 5/6


Classroom Organisation


Our unit is organised into three classes: Red Squirrels, Ospreys and Wolves. The classes are Year 5, Year 5/6 and Year 6. The classes are taught by Mrs Lewtas (Red Squirrels Year 6L) Miss Burns (Ospreys Year 5/6B) and Mr Outram (Wolves Year 5O). If you wish to speak to your child’s Class teacher, please feel free to make an appointment at any time. Alternatively, you can leave a message with the adult on duty at the door in the mornings.


Meet the Teaching Team 







Red Squirrels

Mrs Lewtas

Mrs Lewtas

Mrs Lewtas

Mrs Lewtas Mrs Lewtas


Miss Burns

Miss Burns

Miss Burns

Miss Burns Miss Burns


Mr Outram

Mr Outram

Mr Outram

Mr Outram Mr Outram


Mrs Taylor is based in Year 5/6 to support the children with their learning.


Our Upper Key Stage 2 Curriculum 

Children continue developing from and building on all they have achieved in Lower Key Stage Two Key Stage 2 practitioners aim to do all they can to help children achieve their best by the end of the Key Stage. Children have a right, identified in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, to access provision which enables them to develop their personalities, talents and abilities irrespective of ethnicity, culture or religion, home language, family background, learning difficulties, disabilities or gender. This guidance helps adults to understand and support each individual child’s development pathway. The Key Stage 2 curriculum is available on the Department for Education  website: The National Curriculum


The national curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. It introduces pupils to the best that has been thought and said and helps engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement.  The national curriculum is just one element in the education of every child. There is time and space in the school day and over each week, term and year to range beyond the national curriculum specifications. The national curriculum provides an outline of core knowledge around which teachers can develop exciting and stimulating lessons to promote the development of pupils’ knowledge, understanding and skills as part of the wider school curriculum.


At the end of Year 6 pupils are required to complete Statutory Assessments (Tests) in Reading, Mathematics and SPaG (spelling punctuation and grammar) The Tests are designed to confirm whether pupils have reached the expected standard.  You can view sample test papers and other related documents here: National Curriculum Assessment Practice Materials.  Children are also assessed by teachers in Writing and Science.  In writing, children can also be assessed as having reached greater depth standard or assessed to be working towards the expected standard.